You do not have to wait until your court date to resolve your citation if you do not contest the charges. If you would like to appear before your court date you may do so for the following circumstances:
- Pay your fine - Violation will appear on your driving record
- Defensive Driving Course - Violation will not appear on your driving record (see detail below)
- Deferred Disposition - Violation will not appear on your driving record (see detail below)
- Dismissals - Violation dismissal
- Request a payment plan
To Pay Your Fine
If you wish to pay the fine amount in full please contact the court at firstname.lastname@example.org for more information. Please include your name, D.O.B., citation number and citation date in your e-mail.
If you choose this option, the violation(s) will appear on your driving record, except compliance dismissals.
Defensive Driving Course - Moving Violations
You may ask the court, on or before the appearance date, to take a driving safety course, please e-mail the court at email@example.com for more information. Please include your name, D.O.B., citation number and citation date in your e-mail.
Defensive Driving Eligibility
Request for a defensive driving course must be made prior to signing or taking a course. At the time of the request, you must do the following:
- Present valid Texas driver's license (CDL holders are not eligible for defensive driving)
- Present proof of insurance
- Plead guilty or nolo contendere
- Pay court costs and an administration fee
You are eligible to request this course if you:
- Have not taken a driving safety course within the 12 months preceding the date of the offense
- Are not currently taking the driving safety course for another traffic violation
- Have not committed the offense of speeding 25 mph over the speed limit
- Have not committed one of the following offenses:
- Failure to give information at an accident scene
- Leaving scene of the accident
- Fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer
- Reckless driving
- Passing a school bus
The course must be certified by the Texas Education Agency. Prior to the end of the 90-day period, you must present to the court a copy of the Course Completion Certificate.
Prosecution of the traffic offense will be postponed for 90 days to allow you time to complete the course. You are required to attend a driving safety course that has been approved by the Texas Education Agency or a motorcycle operator's course approved by the Department of Public Safety.
Court is held on the first Thursday of every other month (beginning with February 2, 2023) at 3 p.m., unless your citation states otherwise (holiday scheduling). Your first appearance in court is to determine your plea.
Guilty or Nolo
If you plead guilty or nolo contendere (no contest), you will also waive your non-jury and jury trial options. You will then speak with the judge about extenuating circumstances that you want to be considered when determining your fine amount. The judge is not required to reduce your fine.
Upon entering a not guilty plea, you will be required to attend a pre-trial conference with the city prosecutor. The court will schedule your trial either by jury or before the judge.
Pre-trial conferences are typically held the same day as the initial court appearance.
The following clothing articles are prohibited: shorts, hats, tank tops, torn clothing, flip-flops, and any item of clothing that displays offensive, vulgar, racist, sexist, gang-related, obscene language and/or graphics. Cell phones need to be on vibrate or silent mode during court and may never be used to take pictures or video in the courtroom. No chewing gum is allowed. No weapons of any kind are allowed in the courtroom.
Juveniles / Minors
A juvenile is anyone under the age of 17. All juveniles are required to appear in court for all proceedings in their case. The juvenile and their parent or guardian must appear on the court date stated on the citation.
Parent / Legal Guardian Presence
A parent / legal guardian must also appear at the scheduled court date with the juvenile. A failure to appear by the parent / legal guardian could result in a warrant being issued and additional assessment of fines..
Minors-Alcohol or Drug Offenses
A minor is anyone under the age of 21. If you were charged with an alcohol / drug-related violation, you must appear before the judge in open court before payment of a fine will be accepted
Requests for Continuance
- Your request for a continuance cannot be made later than 4:00 p.m. on the day prior to your scheduled court appearance. Request made for a reset on the day of your court date will not be granted.
- Contact the court to request a continuance at firstname.lastname@example.org. Please include your name, D.O.B., citation number and citation date.
As the court does not operate daily, walk-ins will not be accepted. Please contact the court at email@example.com to make an appointment or for any questions concerning your citation.